Nikon Surf Photo of the Year 2014

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year is a prestigious award recognising the ‘best of the best’ in the Australian surfing photography industry. Previous winners have included Ray Collins, Jon Frank, Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson, Stuart Gibson and Jeremy Wilmotte whose images are published and recognised around the world. The panel of 13 high-profile judges from within the surfing industry including renowned Australian adventure photographer and Nikon Ambassador, Mark Watson, are tasked with selecting the winning surfing photo based on a range of strict criteria.

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Award will recognise the Australian photographer with the best single surfing-themed image taken during 2013. You’ll need to be an Australian resident or citizen to enter, but your photos can be taken anywhere around the world.


  • Opens – 10:30am 1st November 2013
  • Entries Close – 5:00pm 31 December 2013*
  • Your photo must have been shot in 2013 to be eligible to enter.

Enter Now

Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson – 2013 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Winner

Key Criteria for Entries:

Your photo will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Innovation and creativity
  • Dramatic affect and sensory impact
  • Uniqueness
  • Composition of the photo

Who can enter?

If you have taken a great shot that you believe satisfies our criteria and you’re an Australian resident or citizen, we’d love to receive your entry.

How to enter:

Fill in the entry form below, enter up to 5 images, as well as names and captions for each of your photos you enter.

Due to the copyright of some images entered into the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Award, we have removed the photo gallery. However, we’ll be selecting a number of photos to share with you, which you can see on our Facebook page while the awards run.
To go to our Facebook page, please click here >>

You can view the Terms and Conditions for Nikon Surf Photo of the Year by clicking here.


Fill out my online form.

Terms and Conditions for Nikon Surf Photo of the Year